The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

New Recipes! January 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 6:12 pm

I’m sticking with my goal of trying at least one new recipe every week.  In the last couple of weeks, I’ve tried FIVE new recipes!!

(Please excuse the photos…a photographer, I am not!)  Shoepeg corn casserole was good for something different.  It was really rich and creamy, but for the taste, I didn’t really think it was worth all of the calories!  I might would make it again, but it’s not something that would become a regular around our house.

White Chicken Enchiladas was really good and much easier to make than the enchilada recipe I normally use.  Everyone in my family liked this and I’ll definitely make it again!

7-Up biscuits were really light and moist.  I have a similar recipe that my family likes called company muffins, but these were much lighter and fluffier.  I’m sure we’ll have these again!  The only problem with these is I hate buying a whole 2 liter  of 7-up for just 1/2 cup, since 7-Up is not something that we typically drink.

 

Oatmeal Smoothies are really good and I have made them a couple of times already.  I don’t typically like to eat breakfast in the morning, but will sometimes have a smoothie.  The good thing about these is that, because of the oatmeal, they are really filling.  I see more of these in my future!

Last, but not least, is chicken broccoli supreme.  I forgot to snap a picture of this!  It was really good.  Somewhat similar to poppyseed chicken, but without the sour cream and you make your own sauce instead of using cream of chicken soup.  The broccoli really adds to it and helps to make it more of a complete meal.  I just served it with brown rice.

You can check out all the recipes here.

I love finding new recipes that my family enjoys.  Some times it’s more work trying something for the first time, but it’s better than having the same old things every night!  Have you tried any new recipes lately?  I’d love for you to share!

 

Leave a Reply

