The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

Crock Pot Cooking February 14, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 12:59 pm

This morning, I was once again reminded of how much I LOVE using my crock pot!!  It’s so nice to have dinner practically made before it’s even time for lunch!!  The late afternoons/evenings can get so hectic…it’s a great timesaver to have dinner nearly ready before that dinnertime hour rolls around!  I would really love to use my crock pot more often, but I don’t have a lot of tried and true recipes.  I’ve got some slow cooker recipe books and have bookmarked a few websites, but I’d really love to have some recipes that some of you really love…some that are quick and easy!  I’ve got some of my favorites that I use fairly often, but I’d love to try some new ones.  So, would any of you like to share a crock pot favorite?

This morning, I just put in a roast, potatoes and carrots.  Later this afternoon, I’ll had a gravy made of Lipton onion soup mix and cream of mushroom soup.  Add to that a pot of green beans and some rolls and we’re all set!

Tomorrow’s menu is for chicken enchiladas.  I will put some bone-in chicken breasts in the crock pot in the morning.  By afternoon, they’ll be done and I’ll take the meat off the bone and shred it for the enchiladas!

What are some of your tried and true crock pot recipes???

 

2 Responses to “Crock Pot Cooking”

  1. Cyndie Says:

    I just put a 3-pound turkey roast in the crockpot. Here’s the recipe:
    2-to-3 pound turkey breast or turkey roast
    -1- envelope onion soup mix
    -1- 16oz can of whole cranberry sauce
    1/2 cup orange juice

    Spray bottom and sides of crockpot bowl with nonstick spray. In a separate bowl, mix dry soup mix, cranberry sauce and OJ until combined. Pour into crockpot. Place turkey breast or roast in this mixture. Cover. Cook on “high” for about 6-to-7 hours.

    Yum!


Leave a Reply

