The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

What Are You Reading? January 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 6:50 pm

I love to read but, with the busyness of life these days, I have found that I haven’t been reading  much lately.  One of my goals this year is to get back to reading a little every day (not including my daily Bible reading).  Even if it’s just a few pages, I hope to make it a priority to sit down each day and spend a few minutes with a good book.

Currently, I’m reading I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy by Angie Smith.  I am really enjoying this book.  I also enjoy reading Angie’s blog.  Here is a synopsis of the book from Amazon:

In 2008, Angie Smith and her husband Todd (lead singer of the group Selah) learned through ultrasound that their fourth daughter had conditions making her “incompatible with life.” Advised to terminate the pregnancy, the Smiths chose instead to carry this child and allow room for a miracle. That miracle came the day they met Audrey Caroline and got the chance to love her for the precious two-and-a-half hours she lived on earth. Upon receiving the original diagnosis, Angie started a blog (Bring the Rain) to keep family and friends informed of their journey. Soon, the site exploded in popularity, connecting with thousands who were either experiencing their own heartbreaking situations or simply curious about how God could carry someone through something so tragic. I Will Carry You tells the powerful story of a parent losing her child, interwoven with the biblical story of Lazarus to help those who mourn to still have hope—to find grace and peace in the sacred dance of grief and joy.

So, that’s what I’m reading this week.  What about you?  What are you reading?  Do you have a great book to recommend?  I’m always looking for more new books to add to my ever-growing book list!!

Happy Reading!!!

 

3 Responses to “What Are You Reading?”

  1. Cyndie Says:

    Dear Sandra,
    I think you have inadvertantly blessed me and probably in a grand manner! 🙂 My 84-year old dad passed on in August and I have been searching for a “real story” to help me process my grief. “I Will Carry You…” sounds perfect in this regard and I thank you in advance for the recommendation!
    With Happy New Year Blessings to you and yours,
    Cyndie

    • Cyndie—
      I am so sorry for the loss of your dad. I hate to even imagine the pain of losing a parent. I pray that this book will indeed be a blessing to you as you walk through this grief.
      Take care and may the Lord richly bless you!
      Sandra

  2. Mary Says:

    Oh goodness, I just finished this book Sandra…. what a moving story it was. I have two friends whose children are terminally ill, and while this book was heart wrenching, it was also immensely comforting as well.


Leave a Reply

