The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

Blueberry Pickin’!!! July 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 8:11 pm

One of the things that I like to do every summer is to pick blueberries!  We have a little place right down the road from us where we can go and pick.  I like to pick them and put lots of them in the freezer.  That way we can have homemade blueberry waffles and muffins all winter long!  I also like to keep some out to use in cobblers and fruit salads.  This past weekend, my son and I spent about 20-30 minutes and picked 2 pounds and they are delicious!

 

3 Responses to “Blueberry Pickin’!!!”

  1. Erin Says:

    What is the best way to freeze blueberries?

    • Hi Erin–
      It’s really easy to freeze blueberries! I just wash them well, then spread them out on a paper towel to dry completely. Once they are dry, just measure them into freezer bags (I usually put about 1 cup in each bag), then put them into the freezer! Sometimes, if I don’t have enough time to let them dry completely, I’ll wash them, then spread them on a cookie sheet. I’ll put the cookie sheet into the freezer to flash freeze the berries. Then measure them into bags and put bags into the freezer. The flash freezing keeps them from freezing into one big “blob” if they’re still wet. Hope this helps! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Erin Says:

    Thanks for the info. I don’t know of a picking place by me, but I have seen them at the store for really good prices. It would be nice to be able to have them all year long 🙂


Leave a Reply

