The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

Book Review and Giveaway!! Sarah’s Garden by Kelly Long July 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 11:23 am

This is the first novel in the Patch of Heaven series.  It was an easy and enjoyable read.  The setting is Pennsylvania’s Allegheny Mountains in an Amish community.  The story centers around Sarah King, a 20 year old young lady that has been brought up in a loving Amish family.  She loves tending to her garden and generally prefers to be alone, but her world begins to change when her father sends her to work at a roadside stand selling fruits, vegetables and other baked goods.  Sarah is very hesitant and nervous, knowing that she will daily be in contact with the outside world….the “Englischers”.  Indeed, she does meet many Englischers!  One in particular is Grant Williams, a veterinarian that has moved in to practice among the Amish community.  Sarah and Grant begin to grow in their fondness of one another and soon realize that they have fallen in love.  The only problem is that Sarah is Amish and Grant is not!  If Sarah chooses to marry Grant, she will be forced to leave her family, her home and her community.  They really believe that the Lord has called them to be together, but it seems as if it’s just not to be.  You’ll have to read the book to find out what choices are ultimately made!

I did enjoy this book and would like the opportunity to read the rest of the Patch of Heaven Series.

This book was provided to me free of charge from Thomas Nelson publishers via their Booksneeze program for bloggers in exchange for my honest opinion and review.  Other than the book, I have not been compensated in any way.

Now for the giveaway!!!  Now that I’m finished reading this book, I would love to pass it on to someone else to enjoy!  The book is still in like-new condition.  If you would like to be entered to win my copy of Sarah’s Garden, just leave a comment on this post telling me what your most recent favorite book has been.  This comment is mandatory and must be done before the extra entry will count.  Be sure to leave your email address in your comment so that I can contact you if you win.  For one extra entry, just subscribe to my blog via email….(be sure that it is activated!), then leave me a comment saying that you did.  If you  already  subscribe, just leave me a comment letting me know!  Giveaway will end Monday July 12, at midnight EST.  I will choose a winner via Random.org.  I will post the winner here on Tuesday, July 13 and will also contact the winner via email.   This giveaway is only open to US residents.  Good Luck!

 

14 Responses to “Book Review and Giveaway!! Sarah’s Garden by Kelly Long”

  1. Charlotte Says:

    Loving someone with OCD was the last book I read.

  2. mary Says:

    Hey Sandra! I just registered to get your blog by email!
    Mary Ann Denney

  3. mary Says:

    Hello again,
    I just finished “A Simple Christmas” by Mike Huckabee & it was good!

  4. Tia Robertson Says:

    I just finished reading Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs. Loved it! Can;t wait to start her second book!

  5. Pat Says:

    My recent favorite book was Nervous Water by William Tapply.

  6. Kristen Says:

    I just finished Jubilee by Margaret Walker. I learned a lot about slavery before the Civil War…very eye opening.

  7. Rebecca Says:

    The last book I read was Joyce Meyer’s Look Great Feel Great!

  8. Amanda C Says:

    The last book I read was When The Piano Stops by Catherine McCall.

  9. Diane L Says:

    I recently finished reading “Dancing With My Father”. I already passed it along to a friend, and I don’t recall the name of the author. It was a very good book.

  10. Jay Says:

    Right now I am reading Cherish and Loved by Kimberly Hahn about marriage.

  11. Terry Says:

    I am now reading..Dust to Dust by Heather Graham

  12. peacefulbee Says:

    Hi! I am reading THE HUNGER GAMES, by Suzanne Collins. It’s part of our ONE BOOK, ONE SCHOOL program – everyone in every grade has the same summer reading book. It’s an excellent read. — Rebecca

  13. Amanda A Says:

    I just finished reading the Annie’s People series by Beverly Lewis!

  14. Amanda A Says:

    I’m an email subscriber


Leave a Reply

