The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

Summertime Baking June 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 9:21 pm

One of the things that I love about summertime, is all of the fresh fruits and veggies that are in season!  One of the things that my family really enjoys is fresh fruit cobblers!  This week I experimented and made a peach/raspberry cobbler.  It was SO good!!  And it was even better when we topped it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream…Yum!!  I use a recipe that my Mom always used when I was growing up.  She always made peach, and used canned fruit.  I prefer using fresh fruit and I have made peach, blueberry, blackberry and now, peach/raspberry.  The recipe is so simple and easy to remember.  But, I’ll warn you….it’s by no means low-calorie!!!

~Melt a stick of butter in a square baking dish.

~Place fresh fruit on top of butter (about 1 cup).

~In a bowl, mix 1 cup self-rising flour, 1 cup sugar and 1 cup milk.  Batter may be lumpy.  Pour over fruit…do not mix.

~Bake at 350 degrees for about 40 mins. or until golden brown on top.

~ Top with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

~Enjoy!!!

I’d love to hear some of your favorite summertime recipes!

 

One Response to “Summertime Baking”

  1. I will have to try that! Yum! =)


Leave a Reply

