The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

Fresh Baked Bread!! June 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 9:01 pm

I love the smell and taste of fresh, baked bread!  I’ve been making my own bread now for several years, and everyone around here loves it!  I can’t seem to keep enough baked, though!  I need to try to get on more of a regular schedule.  I made some this weekend, and it’s already about gone!  I also made a batch of banana chocolate chip muffins, and there is only one of those left!  At least it’s all made from freshly ground whole wheat, so it’s good for us!

I like to make my sandwich bread with a mixture of hard red and hard white wheat.

Grind it and put it in my handy-dandy bread machine with all of the other ingredients.  This bread machine came from a yard sale several years ago!

I set the machine for the dough cycle.  After about 1 1/2 hours, the dough is ready and I take it out and place it in a bread pan to rise again.

Once it’s finished rising, I put it in the oven for about 30 minutes.  Then I take out a delicious loaf of yummy, good-for-you bread!  If only it didn’t get gone so fast!!!

 

2 Responses to “Fresh Baked Bread!!”

  1. Denise Says:

    Sandra- Is your recipe a Bread Beckers recipe? Your bread looks great. I also make our bread, insisted on a special and expensive bread maker. I heard that the dough was too tough for everyday breadmakers to handle. I wish I had tried a yard sale model. I would have $250 in my pocket. Oh well, live and learn.
    Thanks for the great things you post on your site. I look forward to each one.
    Denise

    • Hi Denise–
      I use a recipe that was given to me by a friend..I’ve adapted it some to make it a little more user friendly! I used to use the Breadbeckers recipe, but found that we like this one much better. Let me know if you’re interested, and I’ll be glad to post the recipe!
      Sandra


Leave a Reply

