The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

Trip #2 to Publix and Kroger..BIG Savings!! March 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 6:29 pm

I did the last of my shopping for this week today. Wanted to use a couple of coupons before they expired.
I stopped at Kroger to get some mega sale items that they were out of on Monday. I spent 1.64 + tax and saved 27.12 or 94%. Plus I got a catalina for “$2 off your next order”!!

10 pouches Bumble Bee tuna….total of $2.10 in OVERAGE!!
1 bottle Mott’s apple juice…0.99
4 cans Del Monte tomatoes….0.24 each
1 box Kroger tampons….FREE
2 Reach dental floss…FREE
1 Lady SpeedStick deoderant…FREE
1 bag flour…1.79
At Publix, I spent 2.85 + tax and saved 21.47 for a total savings of 88%!!

1 pkg lunch meat….FREE!!
2 bags chicken tenders….1.00 each
1 gallon milk…..2.28
1 bottle vit. d and 1 bottle vit B-6….OVERAGE of 1.42

 

3 Responses to “Trip #2 to Publix and Kroger..BIG Savings!!”

  1. Crystal Says:

    I have only been couponing for a couple of months. I spend around $70 while saving $30. I am pleased, but I know there are many that do better. What am I missing when it come to getting deals like you do? I am cutting and printing coupons while trying to keep them organized. I shop at Harvey’s and CVS. Is it possible for me save like you? Any advice you will give is appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Crystal

    • Hi Crystal–
      I think you’re doing great for just starting out! I’ve been at this for about 2 years now and I think the greater savings comes with time. I find it most helpful to not cut out all of the coupons. I prefer to keep the whole inserts, date them, then file them. Many different websites post coupon matchups with sale items. They will tell you exactly what insert the coupon is in. If you have cut all of your coupons, it is difficult to find the specific coupon. I think this would be my biggest piece of advice….it makes matching coupons with sale items so much easier! Just hang in there….you’ll see your savings increase!
      Sandra

  2. Linda Hart Says:

    Can you tell me where I can get the best price on Johnsons and Johnsons baby products?Thanks.


Leave a Reply

