The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

Saturday Baking! February 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 9:20 pm

I did a little baking this evening!  Not much…just a couple of things.  First, I had some bananas that were starting to go bad, so I decided to make banana chocolate chip muffins!  These are SO good and somewhat healthy since they’re made with fresh ground whole wheat flour.  They are also sweetened with honey instead of sugar.

Just mix ’em up and put them in muffin tins!

When they’re done, enjoy one with a hot cup of coffee!!!  YUM!!

What do you do with bananas that are going bad?

Next was my first attempt at making homemade croutons.  I received advice from several people and came up with my own recipe.  Basically I used olive oil, sea salt, garlic powder, parsley and parmesan cheese.

Spread onto a cookie sheet and bake at 275 until crispy.  Here’s the finished product:

They turned out really good!!!  They may not make it into a salad…we may just end up eating them plain!  Will definitely have to make these again!

 

4 Responses to “Saturday Baking!”

  1. Candi Says:

    I heart banana chocolate chip muffins! So good!

  2. S. Fisher Says:

    That is a HUGE Jar of honey!!

  3. Denise Says:

    Sandra-
    Did you get your muffin recipe from the Bread Beckers cookbook?

    Denise

    • Hi Denise–
      I do use the BreadBeckers recipe. I changed it just a little, though. I use all soft white wheat and I add the chocolate chips and leave out the nuts. They’re really good and my kids love them! They also freeze well….if you can get them in the freezer before they are all gone!!


Leave a Reply

