The Frugal Fanatic

Living Life and Saving Money!

How Can it be So Difficult to Spend Someone Else’s Money? February 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — sandra @ 8:38 pm

Last night, I faced a major dilemma!!  I had $6 in ECB’s that were expiring that day!  I went to CVS hoping to work the moneymaking deal on the Crest mouthrinse.  Unfortunately, there was none in stock.  So I had $6 just waiting to be spent!  I couldn’t believe what a difficult decision it was!  It wasn’t really even “my” money, it was CVS money!!  There weren’t any really good ways to roll the ECB’s, and it was killing me to think of spending ECBs and getting NONE back!! I knew I should just buy something I needed.  So what’s the problem?  Well, I didn’t “need” anything.  Because of my stockpiling I have more than adequate amounts of all manner of toiletries and household goods.  So, I thought I’ll just buy something that I “want”, not necessarily something I “need”.  Again, I couldn’t bring myself to just “blow” the money…even though it wasn’t really “mine”!!!  So after wandering around the store for several minutes, I decided on……….toilet paper!!!  You can never have too much toilet paper, right?!?

What do you do when you have ECB’s that are expiring and no good deals to roll them into?  Do you “blow” them on something you “want” or do you use them for something more practical?

 

Leave a Reply

